The icon is encased in a highly ornate neo-rococo style heavy gauge silver oklad in high relief. The vestments of the Mother of God and the Christ Child are repoussé and engraved, the gilt halo is set with paste gems further surmounted with a crown supported by two angels. Three dark blue enamel plaques denoting the name of the icon appear in the upper corners and in the lower part of the oklad. The Virgin is depicted half-length carrying the Christ Child on her left arm. The Child embraces his mother while pressing his cheek against hers.
The image belongs to the iconographic type known as the Umilyenie in Russian, Eleousa in the Greek (She who Shows Mercy) or the Loving Kindness. The icon first appeared to Bishop Prokhor in 1314 by the Tolga river near the city of Yaroslavl, it was later enshrined in the Tolga monastery which was built on the original spot of the icon’s apparition.
The icon is celebrated on August 8th.